How to hide messages on your iPhone

How to hide messages on your iPhone

  • Mon 19 Apr 2021 - 3:41 AM
  • 285

How to hide messages on your iPhone

 

So you would like to cover messages or message notifications on your iPhone or iPad from somebody else in your life. We're neither condoning nor condemning your reasons for doing this, to quote Dr. Manhattan; we're just here to steer you thru the steps.

You can hide message notifications in order that they never appear in your lock screen where someone could see them; conceal your actual message chain during a folder where someone probably wouldn't look; or switch to a replacement messaging app with timed deletion of texts and app password protection.

We'll take you thru different message privacy options one by one until you discover those that best suit your needs.

'Pew pew' on iPhone: the simplest secret iMessage effects and the way to use them
Hide message notifications on iPhones
Open up Settings > Notifications and scroll right down to your messaging app of choice. Open its individual notification settings to seek out several relevant options for maintaining your privacy:

Allow notifications: untoggle this, and you will never see alerts from this app, meaning you will have to truly look inside the app to ascertain if you've received a message.
Alerts: you'll leave notifications on but deselect the Lock Screen option, so you will only see the message alert in your Notification Center.
Show Previews: if you allow lock screen notifications on, you'll make sure that only you'll view them after unlocking your phone with Face ID, or that they will never be unlocked.
Sounds: Use this menu to disable the default alert tone and vibration for the app, so your phone won't provides it away once you receive a text from it.
You may only want to cover one specific conversation's alert notifications. the way to do that will vary from app to app, but it's relatively straightforward in Apple Messages. Open the conversation, tap the profile icon on top, tap Info, and toggle the Hide Alerts option.

How to hide a conversation from Apple Messages
Hiding alerts from a selected contact works to an extent, but the text conversation will still be fully visible in-app if somebody else unlocks your phone, especially if you texted that person recently.

The most straightforward thanks to hiding a conversation are to delete it. Either tap and hold a Message convo or swipe from right to left to form the trash icon appear. Then tap the red trash icon to verify you would like to erase it.

If you would like to save lots of your messages before you delete them, copy your iPhone to your computer then use the Decipher Text message app for Mac or Windows. It reads your iPhone/ iPad backup and exports your conversation as a PDF, plain text version, multimedia version with photos and video, or other options.

iPhone How-To

Assuming you do not want to delete the conversation and need to continue texting this person, your best bet is really to delete their contact from your address book. Then, open Settings > Messages and scroll right down to Message Filtering. There, you'll toggle Filter Unknown Senders.

We recommended this feature for people trying to dam text messages on iPhones because it filters potential spam into a separate, filtered folder and blocks any notifications from them – almost like a spam folder on your email.

But Filter Unknown Senders serves another purpose for privacy: because you've deleted this person from your contacts, their texts won't trigger alerts and can only be visible during a folder where nobody would normally think to snoop.

Telegram, Telegram audio chat

Finding a more private iOS messaging app
Apple Messages was designed for accessibility and convenience, not privacy. rather than using workarounds and disabling features, you ought to consider switching to a replacement app that prioritizes privacy instead.

Messaging apps like Signal and Telegram offer end-to-end encryption so your messages cannot be hacked. More importantly for this discussion, they permit you to password protect the app itself, so someone with access to your phone password still can't access your private messages.

Another neat privacy feature is that some messaging apps allow you to activate Auto Deletion for specific conversations. Telegram, for instance, allows you to set a timer of 24 hours or 7 days, then have any messages older than that get erased by default.

Both Telegram and Signal also allow you to send messages that auto-delete on the receiver's end, just in case you're worried about privacy on another person's phone. Telegram even allows you to delete every message you've sent to a different person on both your phone and theirs, so no evidence remains anywhere.





Search For Test